Views

Hitting new heights: China's multi-storey warehouses

China’s booming e-commerce market has led to soaring demand for warehouse facilities. As land in major urban centres becomes scarce and expensive, developers are setting their sights higher by adding floors to their logistic centers.

2017.02.06
hitting-new-heights-chinas-multi-storey-warehouses

Multi-level warehouse facilities – be they drive-up or equipped with elevators – are proving to be a bottom-line solution for developers looking for more value on their land purchases.

“These types of facilities appeal to logistics companies because they offer practical business solutions, especially for retail and e-commerce companies,” says Stuart Ross, JLL China’s Head of Industrial.

Some of China’s biggest logistics companies are taking a step upwards. Australia’s Goodman group, the second-largest logistics developer in China, launched an ultra-modern 110,000 square metres (sqm) multi-storey warehouse in Shanghai’s Qingpu district in April, which quickly clocked up 97 percent occupancy.

The huge growth in e-commerce could guarantee a future for multi-level facilities in China. Chinese internet research company iResearch says the compound annual growth rate of online shopping is likely to be 24.7 percent until 2027, while the Chinese logistics industry is predicted to grow by double digits annually over the next few years.

Retail chains head upwards

Ross points out that retail chain and e-commerce firms with smaller packages will be more agreeable to upper-floor space.

“E-commerce tenants have different needs. They are likely to be moving smaller packages, thus storing their goods on upper floors with elevator access is no great hindrance,” he explains. “Bulkier items, on the other hand, are more suited to ground levels, unless the warehouses have drive-up facilities. However, drive-up facilities can add greatly to the cost of development.”

“Given the tremendous growth in the retail chain and e-commerce industries, these facilities present a lucrative investment for developers as they can get more value out of expensive land,” Ross adds.

According to JLL data, three major multi-storey projects in Shanghai are running at 100 percent occupancy: U.S.-based Blackstone Group’s two-level 85,000sqm Songjiang facility, a three-level 46,229sqm Minhang project developed by Italy’s Vailog and Singapore-listed Global Logistics Properties’s two-level 65,000sqm warehouse in Shihudang.

In the meantime, New York-listed Prologis set up a 99,200sqm multi-storey logistics centre at the Beijing Airport Logistics Park, which was fully leased upon completion in the first quarter of 2016. The strong take-up is indicative of the situation in the city as a whole, with demand pushing vacancy rates to a three-year low in the same period.

Cheaper land outside the big cities

However, outside China’s first-tier cities, where the availability of land has helped to keep the cost of single-storey warehouses lower, the concept of multi-level warehousing hasn’t taken off.

Goodman is an example. After its successful launch of multi-level facilities in Shanghai, it went low profile for its Xindu North Industrial Park development in Chengdu in central China, opting for four single-storey buildings instead. Three customers grabbed a combined space of 71,700sqm, fully pre-leasing the development, which will be completed later this year.

However, with land prices expected to climb in second and third-tier cities, especially as the housing market recovers, and with ecommerce growing by more than 33 percent last year, the growing popularity of multi-storey warehouses in places like Shanghai may be giving China a preview of the future.

Future growth

The future in multi-level warehousing is very much dependent on land prices and availability outside major cities such as Beijing and Shanghai, according to Ross.

“If prices for land continue to increase in second- and third-tier cities, there could be a tipping point where multi-level warehousing becomes economically more viable,” he says. “And because of the phenomenal growth of e-commerce with its small packaging requirements, leasing second- and third-level warehousing space will become much more commonplace.”

Given these factors, the trend of successful multi-storey logistics facilities in Beijing and Shanghai may well be one that plays out in the rest of the country over the next decade.

“As the market evolves, those who stand out from the pack will be the ones who meet the changing needs of their customers,” says Ross. “The first movers will be the winners.”

Want more? Talk to the team

观点

中国多层仓储设施数量再创新高

中国蓬勃发展的电子商务市场不断推动着仓储设施的需求急剧增长。由于大型城市中心的土地变得更为稀缺和昂贵,开发商开始将目光转向高空。

2017.02.06
hitting-new-heights-chinas-multi-storey-warehouses

中国蓬勃发展的电子商务市场不断推动着仓储设施的需求急剧增长。由于大型城市中心的土地变得更为稀缺和昂贵,开发商开始将目光转向高空,寻求增加物流中心的楼层数来应对需求端的变化

对于开发商而言,需要不断地寻求所购置土地的利益最大化。多层仓储设施–即使需要额外建造电梯和行车道- 都被证明是一项极具经济效益的解决方案。

“多层仓储设施对物流企业非常具有吸引力,原因是它们带来了务实的商业解决方案,对于零售和电子商务企业更是如此。”仲量联行中国工业地产部总监司徒艺表示。

中国一些最大的物流企业正落实“放眼高处”计划。澳大利亚嘉民集团作为在中国的第二大物流地产开发商,于2017年4月在上海青浦区推出了一个110,000平米的多层超现代仓储设施,租用率很快便达到了97%。

电子商务的巨大增长可能为中国多层物流设施的未来提供了信心保证。中国互联网研究公司IResearch认为,在2027年之前,在线购物的年复合增长率有望保持在24.7%,并预测在未来几年,中国物流业将会以每年两位数的速度增长。

零售连锁商“勇攀高峰”

司徒艺指出,处理小包裹的零售连锁公司和电子商务公司会更适合拓展高层空间。

他进一步解释说,“电子商务租户需求不同。如果处理的是小包裹,将货物储存在有电梯通达的高楼层则不存在大的障碍。体积较大的货物更适合摆放在一层,除非仓库有开车直达设施,否则多层仓储设施对他们吸引力将相当有限。然而,适配车道的多层仓储设施会大大增加开发成本。”

“鉴于零售连锁和电子商务产业的巨大增长,多层仓储设施可为开发商投资带来丰厚利润,从昂贵土地投入中获得更大收益。”司徒艺补充说。

根据仲量联行发布的数据,上海的三大多层仓储项目目前的租用率均为100%,分别是美国黑石集团在松江开发的两层共85,000平方米的仓库;意大利维龙集团在闵行区开发的三层共46,229平方米的仓库和新加坡物流开发商普洛斯在石湖荡开发的两层共65,000平方米的仓库。

与此同时,纽约的安博置业在北京空港物流园设立了99,220平方米的多层物流中心,在2016年1季度刚竣工就被全部租出。强劲的吸纳能力表明北京整体的物流地产行业现状,在强劲需求的带动下,市场空置率降至三年同期的最低点。

但是,在中国一线城市之外,可供土地数量增多帮助降低了单层仓储设施的成本,因而多层仓储设施的概念并没有获得普遍认可。

以嘉民集团为例。继在上海成功开发多层仓储设施之后,该公司低调地在成都完成了新都北工业园项目的开发,计划建造4座单层仓库。该项目已由三个客户共计租用71,700平方米的空间完成了预租,项目计划于今年晚些时候竣工。

但是,随着二三线城市土地价格爬升,特别是随着住宅市场恢复火热,伴随着去年电子商务全年增速超过33%,多层仓储设施将在全国各地有望遍地开花。

未来增长

司徒艺认为,多层仓储设施未来的发展很大程度上取决于北京、上海等大城市之外地区的土地价格和供应情况。

他说,“如果二三线城市土地价格继续上涨,就会达到临界点 - 到那时,多层仓储设施在经济上更加可行。由于小包裹电子商务的显著增长,租赁第二层或第三层仓储空间将更加普遍。”

鉴于以上因素,北京和上海多层物流设施的成功,很有可能成为未来十年在中国其他城市的标杆。“随着市场的发展,满足客户不断变化的需求的企业将脱颖而出。先行者将成为市场赢家。”

想了解更多?联系我们的专家