Views

Big businesses benefit from start-up style working

Truly sustainable urban development nowadays depends on companies that do more than simply erasing their carbon footprint.

Set Publication Date in Page Properties
business collegues discussing project in office

Not all R&D companies are expanding into new space; some are aiming to transform existing workspaces – and minimizing disruption during the process is vital.

Understanding the needs of the individual business, identifying the specific changes required, mapping stakeholder groups, engaging employees and incentivizing new workplace habits are all important steps within a sustainable change program. And it must be governed by systems, processes and structures that support the change, says Ram Srinivasan, Vice President and hub lead, JLL Canada Consulting.

“Effective change management ensures space is used as intended,” Srinivasan adds. “Through the transformation journey, as employees better understand how to utilize settings that support their work as well as the people they are with, they will become more empowered to decide which space best suits their needs.”

There’s no single process for achieving the perfect blend to workplace success for R&D companies. However, by harnessing the right mix of location, design and effective change, companies can create a dynamic and compelling work environment that helps employees take the organization to the next level.

Accelerating towards the future

From travel to finance to real estate, established businesses are embracing accelerator programs.

Barclays launched Rise in New York in 2015. Billed as a “physical and virtual global community for fintech innovation,” the program has since spread to seven cities, including three in Europe: London, Manchester and Vilnius. Rise also houses the Barclays Accelerator, a competitive 13-week program designed to push forward the brightest innovations in fintech.

For Barclays, this collaboration offers the ability to buy into specific technologies or successful ideas.

IBM’s Alpha Zone accelerator, based in Israel, focuses on start-ups with expertise in Big Data Analytics, Cloud, Mobile, Security, Internet of Things, Machine learning and AI across industries from travel to media and Telco.

In the travel industry, Lufthansa led the way in 2014 with their Innovation Hub, which was conceived as a “start-up within the company.” Aiming to move decentralized innovation into the core business, the program focuses on customer experience as well as aviation technology, and incorporates airline staff alongside selected start-ups.

With plans to invest 500 million Euros by 2020, the Innovation Hub has already given birth to the likes of travel concierge service Mission Control, and pan-airline online check-in platform AirlineCheckins.

Similarly, Airbus, based in the south of France, launched the Airbus BizLab in 2015 and continues to offer six-month programs in aerospace. Start-ups benefit from the expertise of Airbus’ own ‘intrapreneurs’ while small companies can experience what it takes to work in and with a large group.

The new business club

While many of the accelerator programs are based in-house, others are housed in purpose-built developments. Level 39 at Canary Wharf is Europe’s largest technology accelerator, mixing space for accelerator programmes, including those run by Accenture, UBS, Intel and D’assault Systemes with individual start-ups – many in the finance, retail, and cyber-security sectors.

For many fledgling companies that struggle to find space because they lack established credit records or cannot commit to long lease lengths, corporate-backed start-up accelerators can be a viable solution. “There’s an opportunity to adapt to the format in a much less risky environment,” says Carroll, “thanks to the involvement of more established and experienced businesses.”

Accelerators – and their ways of working – are having a far reaching impact on the wider business world, including how companies manage their office space.

“In leveraging accelerators, businesses are driving innovation in a variety of ways,” says Carroll. It’s not just about the forward-thinking ideas that come out of accelerators, it’s also about creating collaborative workspaces that provide the right environment for people to develop new innovations. And with the benefits of a collaborative workplace becoming clear, it’s in turn putting pressure on landlords and investors to change the way they think about the physical space of the office.

According to JLL’s recent Workplace, Reworked report, workspace should offer a mix of designated working areas and hot desks, along with spaces dedicated to community and socialising, in order to nurture innovation. “These are open, collaborative locations that facilitate the exchange of ideas and allow different organizations to work together,” Carroll explains.

Indeed, in the modern workplace, innovation and collaboration increasingly go hand-in-hand.

Want more? Talk to the team

观点

大型企业“钟情”初创企业型工作方式

为了保持竞争优势,众多大型企业正尝试将初创型企业所常备的组织架构应用到自身企业中。也因此,许多知名企业在欧洲推出了自己相应的加速器计划。

2017年 05月 05日
business collegues discussing project in office

为了保持竞争优势,众多大型企业正尝试将初创型企业所常备的组织架构应用到自身企业中。也因此,许多知名企业在欧洲推出了自己相应的加速器计划

创业加速器计划通常面向众多初创企业,将他们汇聚至一个共享办公空间内提供创业指导并对接资金支持。对于初创企业而言,参与加速器计划不仅可以拓展融资渠道,还可以与潜在的投资者、用户、合作伙伴建立有价值的联系。而对于较成熟的公司而言,建立和投资于加速器可以使运营团队变得更为动态。

仲量联行欧洲、中东和非洲企业研究总监Tom Carroll表示:“从本质上看,这是一个将业务结构组成变得更为多元的计划。数字时代的来临为企业的流动性做好了准备,自由文化的兴起、千禧一代所广泛具备的创业精神共同促进了思维的多元并进。”

他补充道:“相比较而言,大型企业在进行内部大刀阔斧的革新时多有掣肘,它们深刻意识到拥抱以技术为导向、联动多个行业变革的初创企业工作模式的重要性。”

加快迈向未来的脚步

从旅游、金融到房地产行业,相当规模的成熟企业都在拥抱创业加速器计划。

巴克莱银行于2015年在纽约启动了“Rise计划”。该计划被称为“全球金融科技创新的现实和虚拟社区”,并且已经扩展到七个城市,其中包括欧洲的三个城市:伦敦、曼彻斯特和维尔纽斯。Rise计划还包含巴克莱加速器(Barclays Accelerator)计划。这是一项为期13周的竞赛项目,旨在推动金融科技领域的大胆创新。对于巴克莱银行而言,此次计划使其能够与前瞻技术和制胜想法更近一步。

位于以色列的IBM Alpha Zone加速器计划则专注于吸纳在旅游、媒体和电信等行业中拥有大数据分析、云、移动、安全、物联网、机器学习和人工智能等专业知识的初创企业。

在旅游行业,汉莎航空已于2014年率先启动其创新中心,该中心被认为是“公司内部的创业公司。”这项计划旨在将多元创新思维注入核心业务,专注于提升客户体验和航空技术,将航空公司员工与所选的初创企业完美地结合为一体。该创新中心计划截止至2020年将总投资额提升至5亿欧元。目前已顺利上线了旅游礼宾服务平台--Mission Control和泛航空公司在线值机平台--AirlineCheckins。

同样,位于法国南部的空中客车公司于2015年推出了Airbus BizLab,并继续提供为期六个月的航空航天加速器项目。初创企业将受益于空中客车公司自有的“创业”专业知识,而小公司则可以体验在大型集团中工作以及与大型集团合作所需具备的素质。

新企业俱乐部

虽然许多企业加速器计划都是对内的,但也有一些加速器计划是专门对外的。Level 39 at Canary Wharf是欧洲最大的技术加速器。为各加速器计划提供空间,其中包括由埃森哲、瑞银、英特尔和D'assault Systemes与初创企业一起运营的计划。它们中大多数都是金融、零售和网络安全领域的公司。

对于许多因为缺乏信用记录或无法长期租赁而难以找到办公空间的新公司而言,参与由企业支持的初创企业加速器可能是一个行之有效的解决方案。Carroll表示:“你可以在风险较低的环境中适应这种形式,这得感谢许多成熟、富有经验企业的参与。”

加速器及其运作方式对宏观商业世界,包括公司如何管理他们的办公空间的方式产生了深远的影响。Carroll表示:“企业正在通过加速器以各种方式推动创新。”加速器不但产生了前瞻性的理念,而且还创造了为一个适宜于创新开发的协作式办公场所。随着协作式办公场所的优势愈加明显,业主和投资者最终将改变他们对办公空间的思维定式。

根据仲量联行近期的办公场所改造报告,办公场所可考虑同时兼顾固定工作区域和公用办公桌两种形式,并且专注于打造社区和社交空间,从而促进创新。Carroll解释说:“开放的协作式办公场所能够促进思想交流并使不同的企业能够在一起工作。”

在现代化办公场所,创新和协作正在变得越来越密不可分。

了解更多?联系我们的专家团队