Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Shoptalk Q3 2013

Confronting the Online Shopping Challenge

China's booming e-commerce market amplifies the importance of embellishing the lifestyle shopping experience.

The Internet is transforming the way people shop around the world. From Manhattan to Melbourne and Mumbai to Munich, developers and retailers are increasingly aware that conducting business along traditional lines in the age of online shopping risks missing opportunities and losing competitiveness.

Nowhere has online purchasing gained more momentum than in China, and the topic is considered in detail in a new Jones Lang LaSalle White Paper, entitled E-commerce in China: online is the New Black.

China's online retail fundamentals are unquestioned. The nation counted 591 million Internet users at the end of August, and online transactions topped RMB754.2 billion in the first half of 2013, a year-on-year rise of 47.3 percent, according to the Hangzhou-based e-Business Research Centre. In 2013, online shopping is predicted to account for around 7 percent of total retail sales in China – which is nearly double the figure in 2010.

Currently valued as the world's second largest online retail market, China's significant potential for growth is likely to see it claim the number one spot from the United States in the next two years. Apparel purchasing alone, which has been a key element of China's online shopping story, is estimated to grow to RMB920.2 billion by 2016.

"As has occurred in other retail markets around the world, Chinese consumers are moving away from non-experiential shopping and onto online, particularly for items like fast fashion, electronic appliances and household goods," says Eugene Tang, Regional Director and Head of Retail Shanghai and Greater China for Jones Lang LaSalle.

The impact for leisure shopping, however, is expected to be transformative rather than revolutionary."The growth of online retailing combined with the oversupply of retail centres in some Chinese cities is providing a timely jolt to mall developers and retailers," says Eugene Tang. "Chinese consumers still enjoy going shopping, but they expect more variety from the shopping experience. It's important to look beyond a mall's tenant mix, and offer a greater range of entertainment, services and interactive elements."

Much of the burden for adapting to the new demand landscape falls on retailers themselves. Brands are experimenting to integrate online strategies into their physical spaces, by opening store websites, allowing in-store pick up of goods and after-sales service for goods purchased online, and developing opportunities for interacting with the store via smartphones.

Retailers will need to embrace "showrooming" – a concept feared in the industry since it relates to shoppers selecting items in stores then returning home to purchase them at mass market online stores like Taobao. Increasingly, savvy brands are re-orienting their store spaces around handling and trying out products, while directing customers who choose to buy online to make their purchases via the brand's own Internet storefront.

Shopping centre developers are watching these evolving retail tactics closely. "In the coming years, mall owners in China will selectively choose brands that are managing the transition to multi-channel strategies successfully, and will diverge from the most impacted retail formats," says Steven McCord, Local Director, China Retail Research, at Jones Lang LaSalle.

High-profile Chinese developer Wanda has already announced that its new malls will eschew fashion speciality tenants, preferring to dedicate more space to lifestyle oriented offerings, such as cinemas, restaurants, karaoke, a gym or spa and a children's playground. These types of quasi-public spaces are increasingly incorporated into retail centre designs and revamps to appeal to families and friends who wish to more spend time together in a mall.

The branding of shopping malls also can also help connect directly with a targeted clientele base. Hong Kong New World's K11 brand – which has opened a mall in Shanghai with another mall under construction in Shenyang – has adopted an art theme, with exhibition space and an atmosphere of sophistication that imbues each mall with a distinctive identity.

Enterprising malls are also seeking to gain competitive advantage by enhancing the social experience of mall shopping. "Chinese customers enjoy seeing how products are made and consumed, and China's middle classes are expressing interest in events like international cooking demonstrations and wine and cheese, and whiskey tastings," adds Colin Dowall, Head of Retail Asset Management, Greater China, Jones Lang LaSalle. For high-end products, exhibitions of luxury cars and historical brand retrospectives are effective at drawing crowds and creating a buzz.

Introducing entertaining promotional events in common spaces helps owners emphasize the community-gathering function of their centres and stand apart from the other malls in the area. Promotional games played on communal video screens, touch-controlled floor guides and opportunities to share information about the mall and shops via social media all elevate the experience beyond the click-and-pay convenience of online shopping.

The transformation of China’s retail environment is only just beginning, but retailers and mall owners are actively confronting the online challenge. While e-commerce will continue to grow and evolve in China, the entire retail market is growing fast enough that opportunities abound for nimble developers that attract winning tenants and design attractive shopping experiences.

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

2013年第三季度

直面网络购物的挑战

中国蒸蒸日上的电子商务市场,突显了加强生活方式购物体验的重要性

互联网正在改变人们的购物方式。从曼哈顿到墨尔本、从孟买到慕尼黑,世界各地的购物中心开发商和零售商逐渐意识到,在如今的网络购物(网购)时代,如果再沿用传统的渠道和方式开展业务,就可能失去商机和竞争力。

中国是目前世界上网购发展势头最为迅猛的国家。仲量联行在其即将发布的白皮书 《中国电子商务:网购成为消费新势力》 中,将对此进行详细的分析和阐述。

中国网络零售市场的发展势头毋庸置疑,据中国电子商务研究中心发布的数据显示,截至今年8月底,中国的互联网用户数累计已达5.91亿,2013年上半年网络零售市场交易额达7542亿元人民币,同比飙升47.3%。预计2013年全年,全国网络购物交易额占社会消费品零售总额的比重将超过7%,几乎是2010年的一倍。

中国目前是全球第二大网络零售市场。鉴于其巨大的增长潜力,预计未来两年内中国将很有可能取代美国,成为全球最大的网络零售市场。服装销售一直是中国网购中一个重要的组成部分,仅这一项估计到2016年将达到9202亿元人民币。

仲量联行大中华区及上海零售地产部总监邓汝舜表示:"跟世界其它零售市场一样,中国的消费者正逐渐将快速时装、电器和日用商品等非体验式消费转向网购".

但是,目前网购对休闲购物的影响还只是方式上的转变。邓汝舜补充道:"网络零售业的增长以及中国部分城市购物中心的供过于求,让开发商和零售商感到了压力。他们意识到,尽管中国消费者仍然热衷购物,但他们希望获得更为丰富多样的购物体验。因此,购物中心除了要关注商户的组合之外,提供更多娱乐、体验式服务和互动元素的选择变得尤其重要".

在网购时代,零售商更需充分适应这一全新购物体验的需求。目前,各零售品牌正尝试将各种网络营销策略融入其实体店,例如开设品牌网店,允许顾客在店内提货,为网购的商品提供售后服务,以及鼓励顾客通过智能手机与实体店互动等。

此外,零售商必须接受"店面展厅化"(showrooming)这一现实,这是指消费者在实体店面挑选商品,然后回家上大众网购店(如淘宝等)下单的现象,这令商家非常头疼。现在,越来越多精明的零售品牌开始重新定位他们的实体店,以应对选择网购的顾客对挑选和试用产品的需求,并引导他们在该品牌自身的网店下单。

购物中心的开发商也在密切关注这些不断演变的零售策略。专注于零售地产研究的仲量联行中国研究部上海区董事麦哲文(Steven McCord)表示:"未来几年内,中国的购物中心业主将更加青睐于那些多渠道销售的成功零售品牌,因为这将有助于他们摆脱易受网购冲击的零售业态."

著名的购物中心开发商万达集团已宣布其新建购物商厦将尽量不引进时装专卖店租户,而是将更多的店面空间留给生活服务类的商户,如影院、餐饮、卡拉OK、健身房或者水疗中心、儿童游乐场等。这些半开放式的公共空间日益纳入购物中心的设计与改造之中,以吸引家庭及好友在购物中心聚会时逗留更长时间。

此外,购物中心的主题品牌建设有助商家与目标客户群建立直接的联系。例如,香港新世界开发的K11购物艺术中心,一家在上海于今年初开业,另一家在沈阳正在施工建设中,都采用了艺术主题,独特的展览空间和文化艺术氛围赋予购物中心与众不同的特质。

其它具开创性的购物中心也在努力通过增强购物的社交体验以赢得竞争优势。仲量联行大中华区零售资产管理总监段国麟(Colin Dowall)说道:"中国的消费者喜欢了解产品是如何生产和消费的,特别是中国的中产阶级,他们对国际烹饪展示、葡萄酒、奶酪和威士忌品尝活动很感兴趣。"对于高端产品而言,豪华轿车展览和品牌历史回顾在吸引客流和制造舆论方面非常奏效。

在购物中心的公共空间中引入娱乐性促销活动,突出购物中心在社区聚集人气的功能,有助于在同地区其它购物中心中脱颖而出。在公共电视屏幕上播放的促销游戏、触摸式楼层指南以及通过社交媒体共享有关购物中心和店面的信息,均可以提升网购“点击即付”便捷性以外的购物体验。

中国零售环境的变革才刚刚拉开帷幕,但是,零售商和购物中心业主已纷纷积极应对网购带来的挑战。随着电子商务在中国的继续发展,整个零售市场也将得到快速发展,购物中心的开发商只有采取灵活的策略,吸引成功的商户,并设计出富有吸引力的购物体验,才能拥有更多竞争优势,赢得更多商机。