Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Shoptalk Q2 2013

The China Retail Story: Writing A New Chapter

China's retail landscape has been transformed since the country's accession to the World Trade Organization (WTO), and the opening of its retail and wholesale sector in 2004. Retailers subsequently poured into China to set up wholly owned foreign entities without requiring a local joint venture partner or distributor.

Within a few years, global retail brands became ubiquitous as new malls sprung up in Tier 1 cities, and later diversified their reach across Tiers 2 and 3. Local retailers also stepped up to meet the challenge of delivering new products for aspirational Chinese shoppers. In the aftermath of the global economic crisis, China’s retail boom became the envy of the world.

Today, a new chapter is starting to being written in the Chinese retail sector. Retailers, developers and mall operators are responding to the slowdown in sales witnessed in late 2012 and early 2013, and are setting new strategies to appeal to price-sensitive consumers in increasingly competitive markets.

The sales slowdown can partly be attributed to the Chinese government's tightening measures on official gift giving, entertaining and banqueting. This has certainly impacted sales of luxury products and five-star hotel and high-end dining. At the same time, consumers in China have been getting accustomed to a change of leadership and the realities of an economy that is growing more modestly than at any time in the last decade.

Seeking Sustainable Growth
Consequently, retailing is entering a period of transition. "Most brands, from luxury goods to fast fashion, expanded extremely fast across China in the past five years," says Eugene Tang, Regional Director and Head of Retail, Shanghai and Greater China, Jones Lang LaSalle. “But the retail slowdown in 2012 was a wake-up call. Retailers will now be more cautious, analyze individual Chinese markets more carefully and follow a bottom-line driven strategy rather than investing in brand exposure. The result should be healthier growth in the second half of 2013 and 2014."

China's great strength is the potential size of its retail market. While South East Asia is emerging, both as a collective entity and with nations like Indonesia growing at a fast pace, China and India remain the pillar economies in Asia. The Yangtze River Delta region's economy, for example, is about 85% of the size of all Southeast Asia. In China, around 250 more cities will emerge in Tiers 2 to 4 in the next 15 years, and annual double-digit rises in incomes will see many cities having at least 50% of their populations within the consumer class by 2020.

The Chinese Government's drive to rebalance the economy should also catalyze consumer spending, with increased urbanization, the curtailing of income inequalities, and better social security provision being primary objectives. "The consumer sales slowdown we saw last year seems to be receding, and we expect confidence to pick up," says Steven McCord, Director of Research for Jones Lang LaSalle in Shanghai. "Policymakers are serious about promoting consumerism to play a stronger part in overall economic growth, and this should have a positive impact."

As China's consumer economy evolves, retailers are preparing for the long-term, and can be more selective as the choice of store locations proliferates. The total of new shopping centers in China this year is likely to be bigger than ever, with around 150 new malls opening in the top 20 markets. Mall sizes are also expanding, with the average size for a new mall exceeding 80,000 sqm.

"In Shanghai, for instance, one of the new retail centers in 2013 will offer a total of 320,000 sqm, with shop space of around 40,000-50,000 sqm per floor. We expect to see between up to three million sqm of new retail space in the next three years in Shanghai, and maybe three to four million sqm in Chengdu," says Eugene Tang. In addition, large volumes of retail real estate are being built in emerging cities, such as Jinan, Hefei, Kunming and Changzhou.

Overcoming the New Market Challenges
Not every new mall will succeed, however. While the sophistication in planning, building and delivering of malls is improving, developers, operators and retailers will become more strategic and analytical about growth objectives in China. With so many new malls opening, the competition to attract high-caliber retailers is fierce, and tenants are in the driving seat during negotiations.

Increasingly, rent terms are based on a percentage of sales turnover and generous fit-out subsidies are being offered. Competition between malls is also placing managers under greater pressure to differentiate their properties in terms of design and traffic flow, tenant mix, theme, customer base, and market positioning.

Simultaneously, an unpredictable new challenge is emerging: the growth of online retail. Lower-end brands, in particular, are vulnerable to this trend as price sensitive consumers switch their purchasing to the Internet. As a result, the design and composition of malls is changing, as operators seek to insure against the online threat.

"Non-traditional retail elements, such as entertainment, services, and dining, are increasingly important to the tenant mix," says Steven McCord. "Some mall owners are making it a strategic priority to have 60-70% of space dedicated to food and beverage and entertainment, such as movie theaters, game arcades and karaoke. They also put in a lot of service-oriented tenants such as early education centers, English schools, and weight-loss clinics. These are all things that can’t go online."

The design of the mall of the future is an integral part of China's new retail chapter. As operators, developers and retailers work to get on the same page, China's rising consumer class will play a central role in influencing this exciting new era.

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

2013年第二季度

中国零售业发展新篇章

2004年,中国根据加入世贸组织(WTO)的承诺,零售行业全面对外开放,中国零售业格局发生了翻天覆地的转变。由于无须与国内企业合资或合作,国际零售商纷纷以独资的方式进军中国市场。

仅仅几年间,众多国际零售品牌纷纷抢滩中国一线城市,后又扩展到各二三线城市,在各地遍地开花。国内的零售商也加快了扩张的步伐,以满足中国消费者对各种全新产品的渴求。全球金融危机发生后,中国零售业依然繁荣的景象更是令世人艳羡不已。

时至今天,中国零售业已经步入了另一个全新的发展阶段。2012年底至2013年初,零售销售额增长放缓,消费者对价格日益敏感,零售商、开发商和运营商对此积极应对并制定新的策略,力求在这个竞争激烈的市场中赢得消费者的青睐。

零售增速下降的部分原因来自于中国政府对公款送礼、娱乐和宴请的严控;这对奢侈品、五星级酒店以及高档餐饮行业的影响尤其明显。中国领导层换届带来的转变以及中国经济增长较过去十年放缓,是中国零售行业必须面对的现实。

寻求可持续增长
目前,中国的零售业正经历转型。仲量联行大中华区零售地产部总监邓汝舜表示:"过去五年,无论是奢侈品还是快速时尚,大部分品牌都在中国市场迅速扩张。2012年零售业的放缓实际上为我们敲响了警钟。相信今后零售商在中国的发展将更加谨慎,并对各个市场进行更为深入详细分析。区别于之前着重扩大品牌影响力的策略,目前他们采取利润驱动型的发展策略。我们预计中国零售业在2013年下半年及2014年将出现更为健康的增长局面。"

中国的优势在于其零售市场的巨大潜力。尽管东南亚市场不断崛起,印尼等国家经济发展迅猛,但中国和印度至今仍是整个亚洲地区的主要经济体。中国单长江三角洲地区的经济总量就约为东南亚所有经济体经济总量的85%。预计在未来15年间,中国将新增大约250个二、三、四线城市,居民收入每年以两位数的速度增长,众多城市的消费人口占总人口比例在2020年前将超过50%。

中国政府致力于推动经济平衡发展,主要目标包括提高城镇化水平、减少收入不均现象、改善社会保障体系等,这些举措将促进居民的消费支出。仲量联行上海研究部麦哲文(Steven McCord)表示:“去年出现的销售额放缓情况似乎已开始消退,预计消费者信心将会好转。政府非常希望通过推动内需发展国家经济,这应该会对零售业产生正面的影响。”

中国的消费经济不断发展,零售商们开始放眼未来。随着新建购物中心如雨后春笋般不断涌现,零售商们对店铺选址的选择更多了。预计今年中国新增购物中心的总数将创新高,在20个主要市场将有约150个新购物中心开业。商场的规模也不断扩大,新开业购物中心的平均面积将超过8万平方米。

邓汝舜表示:“举个例子, 2013年将在上海开业的一座购物中心,总面积达到32万平方米,每层购物面积约4-5万平方米。未来三年上海的新增零售面积将达300万平方米,而成都则预计在300-400万平方米之间。”此外,很多新兴城市,如济南、合肥、昆明和常州也在兴建大量的零售地产项目。

应对全新市场挑战
然而,并非每个购物中心都能取得成功。随着购物中心的规划、建设和交付日趋成熟,开发商、运营商和零售商对在中国市场的发展战略上将更为审慎。随着大量新购物中心的开业,业主引进优质零售商的竞争将日趋激烈,租户在商业谈判中将处于更加有利的主导地位。

现在,商场的租金越来越多地按照租户营业额的百分比来收取,并提供优厚的装修补贴。面对竞争压力,管理者必须在商场设计、客流、租户组合、主题、客户群和市场定位等方面努力,使商场在同业中脱颖而出。

与此同时,对于购物中心而言,来自网上零售商的挑战也日渐增大。许多低端品牌的消费者由于对价格非常敏感,大部分转向网上购物。购物中心的营运商开始改变商场的设计与构成模式,以应对网上零售带来的挑战。

麦哲文表示:“娱乐、服务和餐饮业等非传统零售元素,正成为租户组合中日益重要的组成部分。部分购物中心的业主已制定战略优先计划,将60%-70%的零售空间专门用于餐饮和娱乐,如影院、游戏厅和卡拉OK厅等。此外,他们积极引进许多专门提供服务的租户,如早教中心、英语培训机构或美容健身中心等无法在线消费的商户。”

未来购物中心的设计,是中国零售业发展新阶段中不可或缺的因素。随着运营商、开发商和零售商共同书写这一新篇章,中国不断崛起的消费阶层将在这一发展过程中举足轻重。