Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Shoptalk Q1 2013

Building a Shopping Centre Brand

Positioning a shopping mall to differentiate it from the competition is increasingly important in Chinese cities.

The marketing age is thriving in China. On every main street in every city, consumers are bombarded with ads, videos and imagery promoting branded products and services. This panoply of choice is a major influence on consumer behaviour, and as the store portfolios of shopping malls become increasingly similar, magnetizing and retaining customers is proving a tricky challenge.

The fluid growth of China’s retail sector places a strong emphasis on market positioning. "Marketing and promotion are high-priority concepts for mall developers in China, but the quest is to create the best shopping experience for customers and tenants in highly competitive markets," says Marcus Dee, Associate Director, Retail Asset Management, Greater China for Jones Lang LaSalle.

A recent research report by Mintel noted brand loyalty among Chinese urban consumers "remains extremely hard to find… spending patterns and brand preferences shift between cities, regions and age groups." As a result, shopping centre owners are trying to better understand what consumers actually want – and how to encourage them to want more of it.

"Chinese retailing has changed considerably since the 2008 Beijing Olympics. Consumers are more sophisticated and more familiar with the influx of international brands," says Justin Teo, Co-owner of Beijing Kroznot, a China-based mall marketing consultancy specializing in the retail sector. "Developers therefore need to consider the prospect of a shopping centre, including the hardware, software and tenants, quickly becoming a commodity, and create a strong brand identity and positioning strategy to differentiate their brand from the competition."

Overlapping Branding Objectives
The successful marketing of a shopping mall synthesizes two contiguous goals: improving financial performance and enhancing its public image and identity. Achieving these objectives means creatively appealing to the target audience’s hard-wired need for personal identity. Engaging with consumers keeps them interested – and ultimately spending – and promotes the mall as more than a place to shop, but a social space that you can also shop in.

The starting point for developing a shopping mall brand is to rigorously analyse its strengths and weaknesses, says Justin Teo. "It's important to ask yourself 'how and why is this mall different?'" Kroznot undertakes local market research to demonstrate where the mall’s strengths are in terms of potential growth, and also the challenges from the competition, because there may be several other malls concentrated within a small radius. "The results of our analysis enable us to set the direction for a marketing strategy that presents the mall as a lifestyle destination for a desired customer base," says Teo.

Utilizing Common Areas
A proactive marketing strategy will take a long-term approach, and can even be incorporated into the way a shopping centre is planned and built. The building itself can be a strong branding asset. Working with the architectural firm on the design and layout of common areas enables operators to direct traffic and footfall through the mall from day one.

"Flexible, quirky designs of common areas can help drive marketing and positioning efforts once the shopping centre is open," says Henry Crabb, Senior Manager, Retail Asset Management, Greater China for Jones Lang LaSalle. "For example, a pillar that doesn’t block sight lines can facilitate a large LED screen for visual promotions and interactive gaming events without affecting the basic fabric of the building."

Successful malls utilize public spaces as a commodity, with the central areas dedicated to performance and events venues or a museum. These spaces are used to host free shows, exhibitions and performances, or events such as gardening or golfing contests that capture the imagination of visitors and encourage them to stay longer.

The monthly magazine of the International Council of Shopping Centers even has a regular section entitled 'The Common Area', underscoring the importance of non-retail spaces for brand marketing initiatives. By creating a year-round programme of carefully targeted events the mall places itself in control of the overall marketing strategy, rather than allowing individual store and product brands to drive their own traffic through roadshow events.

Creating Community Links
The architectural structure can also be utilised to create deeper links with local residents. Placing a shopping centre as part of the community can include a fitness centre, athletic club or basketball court on the upper or basement floors, and sponsoring local sports teams. These trends are likely to continue.

Beyond the financial and promotional objectives, marketing the mall as a brand helps counteract evolving challenges, such as the advance of online retailing. Shopping centres are responding by introducing more experiential branded elements, including interactive mall guides, video screens, events booths, family-oriented facilities and food-based retail and dining. These incentivise families to spend more quality time together in a shopping centre, and also tap into discretionary spend.

Placing the mall at the heart of the online community as well as the physical community is another branding objective, particularly as younger consumers are more responsive to social media and applications-based promotions. Social media is increasingly a place where hearts and minds can be won or lost in China – and can prove effective for interacting with shoppers and creating a distinctive identity for a mall.

As product brands battle for the online and offline attention of consumers, integrating both elements should form the basis of a strategic positioning strategy for shopping centres in China.

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

2013 在第一季度

如何打造一个成功的购物中心?

对购物商厦进行差异化定位,在中国各大城市中的重要性日益增强

中国正处于市场营销的繁荣时代。在各个城市的街道上,各种品牌产品和服务的文字、视频和图像促销广告铺天盖地,对消费者产生了巨大影响。随着各个购物商厦的品牌组合日趋雷同,如何吸引和留住顾客,给购物商厦带来了严峻的挑战。

中国零售行业的快速增长,进一步凸显了购物商厦市场定位的重要性。仲量联行大中华区零售资产管理部Marcus Dee表示:“对于中国的购物商厦开发商来说,营销和促销是其当前最为关注的领域。今后,开发商还应考虑如何在这一竞争激烈的市场中为消费者和零售商创建最佳的购物体验。”

根据市场调研公司Mintel近期发布的一项调研报告显示,中国城镇消费者的品牌忠诚度“仍然很难确定……不同城市、地区和年龄组之间的消费支出方式和品牌偏好存在很大的差异。”因此,各个购物中心的业主正投入大量的精力,希望更加深入地了解消费者的实际需求与消费行为。

“自2008年北京奥运会以来,中国零售业已发生了翻天覆地的变化。消费者更加成熟,对大量的国际品牌也更加了解,” 专门针对中国零售行业提供商厦营销咨询服务的机构——北京酷作广告公司(Beijing Kroznot)合伙人Justin Teo表示:“因此,开发商必须对购物中心,包括硬软件和租户在内的方方面面进行考虑,使之快速进入市场,并营建一个强有力的品牌识别和定位策略,使其能够在竞争中脱颖而出。”

购物中心成功的两大关键
购物中心的成功营销包含两个彼此相关的目标,即改善购物中心的财务业绩,同时提升其公众形象和认知度。要实现这两大目标,必须很好地满足目标受众对个性化认知的内在需求。与消费者进行互动,始终吸引他们的注意力,并让他们最终来购物中心消费,可以将购物商厦打造成为一个不仅供消费者购物的场所,也是消费者用来开展社交活动的场所。

Justine Teo认为,要打造一个成功的购物商厦,首先必须仔细分析其优势和劣势所在。“必须自问一下这个问题,‘我的这个商厦有何不同,为什么要这样?’”酷作广告公司负责开展当地市场调研,分析商厦在潜在增长方面的优势,以及来自同一区域内其它竞争对手的挑战。“我们的分析结果使我们能够确定购物商厦营销战略的方向,使该购物商厦成为其目标客户所向往的生活方式目的地,”Teo表示。

有效利用公共区域
一项积极主动的营销策略应着眼未来,甚至可以纳入购物中心的规划和建设之中。购物中心的建设本身就是一个强大的品牌建设资产。购物商厦的运营商与建筑设计事务所合作开展公共区域的设计和布局,可以从一开始就将人流量和客流量纳入考量。

仲量联行大中华区零售资产管理部高级经理Henry Crabb表示:“公共区域灵活、独特的设计,有助于在购物中心开业后推动其营销和定位工作。例如,一条不会阻挡视线的柱子可以安装LED大屏幕开展视觉促销和交互式游戏,而不会影响建筑物的基本结构。”

成功的购物商厦可以将中心公共区域专门用作开展演出和活动的场所或展览空间,使之真正成为促进消费的“激发点”。这些空间可用于举办免费演出、展览、园艺或高尔夫球比赛等活动,激发参观者的想象力,并吸引他们在这里停留更长的时间消费购物。

国际购物中心协会(International Council of Shopping Centers)出版的月刊中有一个名为“公共区域”(The Common Areas)的定期栏目,强调了将非零售空间用于品牌营销活动的重要性。购物商厦通过制定一个全年活动计划,精心组织各种有针对性的活动,可以很好地管理其整体营销策略,而不是让各个店面和产品品牌通过路演活动提高自身的人流量。

建立与周边社区的紧密联系
购物中心本身还可用来加强与本地居民之间的联系。将购物中心作为社区的一个组成部分,可在购物中心内设立健身中心、运动俱乐部或篮球场,并为当地的运动队提供赞助等等,从而提升购物中心的知名度和人流量。

除了在财务绩效和促销方面的目标外,购物商厦的品牌营销还有助于应对各种新出现的挑战,包括迅猛发展的在线零售等。购物中心可通过引入体验性更强的品牌元素,如商厦交互式导购、显示屏、活动厅、面向家庭消费的设施和餐饮零售等,来应对上述挑战。这些元素将刺激家庭成员在购物中心共同享受休闲,进而消费。

将购物商厦始终推向“在线社区”和实体社区的核心部分,是购物商厦品牌建设的另一个目标。随着年轻的消费者对基于社交媒体和应用的促销方式更感兴趣,这一点就显得更为重要。目前在中国,社交媒体正日益成为一个重要的影响平台,并可以利用它有效地与购物者进行互动,创建一个富有特色、与众不同的商厦形象。

由于各种产品品牌竞相在线上和线下吸引消费者的注意力,将线上和线下两种营销方式结合在一起,将是今后中国各大购物中心制定其营销战略的重要基础。