China’s Changing Real Estate Markets

The changing nature of China’s cities and economy are transforming commercial property across the main use categories of office, retail, logistics and hotels – as well as the investment landscape.

Domestic investment poised for growth – but transparency needs to improve

China’s domestic investment markets are growing more mature at the same time as recently strengthened capital controls are restricting overseas real estate investment. This means that there is considerable room for growth for China’s US$40 billion direct commercial real estate investment market. Assuming the country makes much-needed improvements in market transparency, there is the potential for China’s real estate investment to reach US$150 billion a year, challenging the U.S. for top spot.

Technology transforms office markets

The technology and new media sectors have emerged as major drivers of demand for the China12’s office space. Co-working spaces and operators are, in part, rising to meet this new demand, dovetailing with growing recognition of real estate as an attractor and retainer of talent. Decentralisation of offices away from concentrated central business districts (CBDs) is another key trend which is starting to spread from China’s top-tier cities to other major centres.

Office Rents and Future-Proofing Score

A New Evolution Curve

Source: JLL, 2018

E-commerce continues to influence ‘bricks-and-mortar’ retail

Leading e-commerce and technology firms continue to provide lessons for China’s physical retail spaces. Retailers and operators are placing greater emphasis on ‘big data’, on providing more unique, ‘experiential’ offers and integrating with online firms to pioneer ‘new retail’ offerings.

‘Satellite’ logistics markets continue to grow

Although demand for modern warehouses continues to boom, some leading cities are restricting warehouse land supply in favour of more productive land uses. In response, ‘Satellite’ markets located over the borders from major cities are fulfilling increasing demand for logistics space and will continue to grow. Examples of this trend include the Wuqing district located between downtown Beijing and Tianjin; and Kunshan, between Suzhou and Shanghai.

Domestic travel continues to boom

China’s booming middle-class population will continue to travel to major cities, with spending set to increase over the coming years. This will help the hotels sector to absorb recent high levels of new supply. Future supply is likely to be targeted at the fast growing market of mid-level domestic travellers, rather than towards the luxury segment.

+

中国房地产市场的变革发展

中国城市和经济发展进入新时代,商业地产在办公楼、零售地产、物流地产和酒店和投资格局也在发生变革。

国内投资将增长迅速——但须提升透明度

近期中国资本管制将限制海外房地产投资,另一方面,国内投资市场日益成熟。今天这个年交易量在400亿美元的直接商业房地产投资市场将有望继续增长。如果中国在市场透明度上有了实质的提高,中国将有可能发展成为年交易量达1500亿美元以上的市场,挑战美国的领先地位。

科技转型办公楼市场

科技及新媒体行业已经成为中国12强城市办公楼需求的主要驱动力。共享办公空间及运营商的不断兴起,在一定程度上满足了这种新需求,正好说明房地产是吸引和留住人才的利器。办公楼市场从中央商务区不断向非中央商务区发展是从中国一线城市蔓延到其它大型中心城市的一个主流趋势。

办公楼租金和“未来竞争力”指数

办公楼租金和“未来竞争力”指数

数据截至2017年第4季度
来源:仲量联行,2018

电子商务将继续影响实体零售

领先的电子商务和科技公司将不断冲击实体零售业。零售商和运营商正在不断利用“大数据”、提供个性化、“体验式”服务,并与科技公司整合开创“新零售”发展模式。

“卫星”物流市场将持续增长

尽管对现代仓储的需求持续增长,一些领先的城市开始限制仓储用地供应,转向其它更高价值土地用途。因此,位于大城市周边的“卫星”市场开始被用来满足对物流空间日益增长的需求,并将持续发展。典型的例子是位于北京天津之间的武清区;以及位于苏州上海之间的昆山。

国内旅游市场将繁荣发展

蓬勃发展的中产阶级将继续保持在主要城市之间的出行,未来将继续增加支出。这将有助于酒店行业吸纳近期较大的新增供应。随着国内中产阶级游客数量的增长,未来供应将主要以此人群作为目标发展中端市场,而不是高端市场。

+