Liveable, Sustainable, Connected – the
'Softer' Side of Competitiveness

China's leading cities have matured rapidly on the back of major economic growth and high levels of investment into new infrastructure. Now, however, their evolution is entering a new phase – with the focus shifting to improvements in liveability and the environment and the development of integrated 'clusters' of cities.

The changing approach to urban development

China's New Urban Growth Model

China's New Urban Growth Model

Source: JLL, 2018

The softer side of 'city competitiveness'

Southern and Eastern cities, namely Shanghai, Shenzhen and Guangzhou are emerging as the China12's most attractive places to live and work, combining quality of life and better quality environments. Climate, green space, sustainable buildings, nightlife and the cultural offer all contribute to these cities' strong performance.

Air quality has dominated debates around China's cities, and continues to pose problems, in particular for Northern and Western cities, like Beijing, Xi'an, Tianjin and Chengdu. Concrete steps are being taken, with Beijing showing firms signs of improvement in the winter of 2017-18.

Housing is emerging as another key debate among China's cities. Cities we identified as most 'liveable' also tended to have the highest housing costs. Guangzhou and Chengdu are the lone examples where good quality of life is paired with relatively affordable housing.

Building connections between cities

'Clusters' of cities, developing complimentary niches and strong connections, are being touted as the next phase of China's urban development. Three regions stand out: the Yangtze River Delta, including Shanghai, Nanjing, Hangzhou and Suzhou; the Greater Bay Area centred on Hong Kong, Guangzhou and Shenzhen; and the Jing-Jin-Ji region, anchored by Beijing and Tianjin.

On a national scale, China's leading cities are becoming increasingly inter-connected through the Chinese high-speed rail network, which is by far the world's largest. Wuhan and Nanjing, in particular, are becoming key nodes in the network, with rapid access to many of the country's biggest economic centres.

+

宜居性、可持续性、连通性 —— 城市的软性竞争力

中国城市过去一直依靠强调高投入和快速增长的通用模式迅速发展。如今,城市发展进入新时代,重心将转向改善宜居性、环境质量以及促进一体化区域性城市群的发展。

中国城市竞争力新特征

中国城市竞争力新特征

来源:仲量联行,2018

城市的软性竞争力

上海、深圳、广州等华南、华东城市正在成为中国12强城市中最具吸引力的生活、工作两相宜的城市,集优质生活和环境为一体。气候、绿色空间、可持续建筑、夜生活及文化设施都是这些城市出色表现的因素。

北京、西安和天津等北方城市以及成都,因空气质量较差,排名受到影响。为解决这个问题,这些城市正在采取相应措施,北京2017-18年冬季的空气质量有明显的改善迹象。

住房是中国城市的另一热议话题。宜居性指数较高的城市往往也是房价最高的城市。广州和成都在一定程度上是个例外,这两个城市拥有良好的生活质量,同时住房价格也相对可承受。

建立城市间的连通性

发挥互补优势且紧密连通的区域性城市群被视为中国下一步城市发展重点。其中有三个地区尤为突出:包括上海、南京、杭州和苏州在内的长三角地区;以香港、广州和深圳为中心的大湾区;以北京和天津为主导的京津冀地区。

从全国范围来看,中国的领先城市正通过全球最大的高铁网络实现互联互通。特别是武汉南京,作为高铁网络的重要节点城市,可以迅速到达国内多个最大的经济中心。

+