Identifying China’s Innovation Hotspots

China’s cities are becoming hubs for ideas and innovation, creating new products, companies and technologies. Beijing and Shanghai are among the front-runners, but Shenzhen is rapidly becoming a major global force in the technology sector.

Education

China’s universities are making waves internationally, and 6 Mainland Chinese universities now rank within the Top 100 universities globally, according to QS. Beijing is undoubtedly the country’s higher education hub – home to the prestigious Tsinghua and Peking Universities. But other cities, notably Guangzhou, Nanjing and Wuhan, are developing strong, large-scale networks of higher education. As the lure of domestic universities grows, China’s best and brightest graduates will be key to future city success.

Talent

Yet, many cities face the challenge of ‘brain drain’, with graduates lured by the bright lights of China’s largest cities, including Beijing and Shanghai. Shenzhen has emerged as one of the country’s talent hotspots, despite its limited educational offer. The city’s entrepreneurial climate and employers like Huawei and Tencent has proved difficult to resist for many ambitious Chinese. For other China12 cities, future success will depend on their ability to attract and retain the next generation of graduates.

Innovation Eco-System

Beijing, Shanghai and Shenzhen are far and ahead China’s innovation hotspots, each with their own strengths. China’s leading start-ups, research institutions and innovation firms are all concentrated in these three cities. Indeed, Shenzhen is the world’s third largest city for international patent applications. Hangzhou may be a ‘dark horse’ with Alibaba and other private firms increasingly driving innovations and efficiencies in the fields of e-commerce, retail and logistics.

‘Next Generation’ Corporates

China’s corporate landscape is shifting, with a new breed of dynamic private firms joining the country’s state-owned enterprises. Beijing’s Zhongguancun (or Z Park) has developed as the leading technology park within the country, and the city is home to the likes of Didi Chuxing and Xiaomi. Shenzhen comes close behind, testimony to its well-established private firms (e.g. Huawei, ZTE) and wealth of new start-ups. Hangzhou also performs strongly, thanks to a legacy of entrepreneurship that has produced leading firms.

Explore the China12

+

发掘中国的创新热区

中国城市正在成为创意和创新的中心,不断创造新的产品,企业和技术。 其中,北京上海遥遥领先于其它城市,深圳也正迅速成为科技领域全球重要的参与者。

教育

中国高等院校的国际影响力与日俱增,据QS世界大学排名,目前中国有6所大学跻身全球100强大学之列。毋庸置疑,北京是中国高校最集中的城市,汇集了知名的清华大学和北京大学。而其它城市(特别是广州、南京和武汉)也在打造强大的高等教育网络。随着国内高校的吸引力不断增强,那些最优秀的毕业生将成为未来城市发展的关键。

人才

但是,由于大学毕业生纷纷涌入北京、上海等最具发展前景的一线城市,很多城市面临“人才外流”的挑战。尽管教育资源有限,但这没有阻碍深圳成为中国最受人才亲睐的城市。行业领先的企业如华为和腾讯不断吸引着高端人才,同时这里浓厚的创业氛围亦吸引着各类参与者。对于中国其它12强城市而言,未来成功的关键在于他们是否有能力吸引及留住新一代毕业生。

创新生态系统

北京、上海和深圳在创新方面遥遥领先,各有其优势。中国领先的初创公司、研究机构和创新公司都主要集中在这三个城市。 而深圳是世界第三大国际专利申请城市。 杭州作为一匹“黑马”出现,这与阿里巴巴和其它私营企业在电子商务、零售和物流领域不断地创新并提高运营效率存在相关性。

“新一代”企业

中国的企业格局正在快速变化。“保守”的国有巨头、私营企业(通常集中在制造业、零售业和房地产业)以及跨国公司中已经加入了一批新兴的本土企业。北京中关村已经发展成为中国顶尖的科学技术中心之一,也是滴滴出行和小米等企业所在地。深圳紧随其后,拥有一批极为成熟的私营企业(如华为,中兴)和大量新创公司。杭州的表现也引人注目, 这座城市一直以创业文化而闻名,这种文化支持着一些有竞争力的私营企业的成长发展。

(教育、人才、创新、“新一代”企业)图表

+