China’s Growing Global Connections

As the China12 internationalise, three topics dominate the narrative around China’s growing global influence: The Belt and Road Initiative; capital outflows and the growing overseas presence of Chinese corporates. Explore China’s Global investment, leasing and corporate activity with our interactive map below.

JLL's China Outbound Cities Connectivity Index

Based on Mainland Chinese outflows into world cities across five themes: capital, corporates, infrastructure, flows of people and trade

The Belt and Road Initiative (BRI)

The BRI represents an ambitious global infrastructure financing and construction programme, which at its most common definition spans 65 countries across the globe. More broadly, the BRI is an umbrella term for China’s overseas infrastructure projects. State-owned enterprises, alongside new and existing financing institutions, are the key drivers of the project. South, Southeast and Central Asian markets, as well as countries in Eastern Europe and East Africa, are set to be key beneficiaries. Many of these markets face challenges around risk and market transparency, meaning that they are likely to remain off the radar of many real estate actors.

Capital Outflows

Capital outflows reached US$158 billion in 2017, with real estate accounting for around US$32 billion of this. Investments have targeted a range of sectors, from consumer goods to cutting-edge technologies, with Chinese firms taking charge of well-known global brands. A number of high-profile acquisitions in 2016 led to the strengthening of capital controls, but there nonetheless remains room for growth. Investment is likely to become more targeted and more aligned with national priorities.

The Next Wave of Chinese Corporates

China’s dynamic innovative firms are becoming increasingly internationally-recognised. Through natural expansion, acquisitions and venture capital investments, a new breed of Chinese firms are entering markets across the globe. Technology firms Huawei, ZTE, Alibaba and Tencent are at the forefront of this move.

World Cities Forming Distinct Connections with Mainland China

The Most Connected Cities with China

Source: JLL, 2018

+

中国日益增长的全球连通性

随着中国12强城市日益国际化,三个紧密相连的因素将主导对全球城市网络的影响::一带一路倡议、中国资本输出和中国企业在海外不断扩大的足迹。

仲量联行中国境外城市连通性指数

基于五个中国境外活动的因素——资本、企业、基础建设、人口流动和贸易

“一带一路”倡议(BRI)

“一带一路”倡议是一个庞大的全球基础设施、融资和建设计划,覆盖欧洲、非洲和亚洲的65个国家。换言之,“一带一路”倡议是所有中国海外基础设施参与项目的总称。国有企业与新建及老牌融资机构共同成为该项目的关键推动力。中国“一带一路”相关投资的主要受益者分布在多个地区,尤其是南亚、东南亚和东非。很多“一带一路”沿线国家是新兴市场的高风险投资目的地,在一段时间内它们仍将不会得到国际房地产业参与者的关注。

中国资本输出

2017年,中国的对外投资达到1580亿美元,其中房地产投资(包括土地买卖)达320亿美元,包括从消费品到先进技术等一系列行业,表现为中国企业收购知名的全球品牌。2016年,资本管制抑制了海外投资,未来中国海外投资的规模和方向不确定性增加。尽管如此,海外投资仍有增长空间,但随着中国企业寻求开发新市场并根据国家战略重点获取新技术,投资将更具针对性。

中国企业:下一个浪潮

中国充满活力的创新企业正日益受到国际认可。中国企业正在通过瞄准新兴市场的自然增长、海外公司收购以便在新市场立足和旨在获得新技术的战略投资等方式,扩大全球足迹。华为、中兴、阿里巴巴和腾讯等高科技企业已经跻身世界规模最大、最有价值的公司之列。

连通性的推动力

The Most Connected Cities with China

来源:仲量联行,2018

+