How Will Chinese Innovations Transform the Cities of Tomorrow?

Chinese influence on city skylines and infrastructure has grown through significant investment and development. Yet over the next decade, China’s influence will be felt in more diverse and subtle ways. The China12 cities are on the edge of a number of new technologies that will change the way in which cities work.

On-Demand Economy

The China12 are at the forefront of the ‘on-demand economy’, including bike-sharing, ride-hailing, co-working and delivery services, building on the country’s mature digital ecosystem. The spread of dock-less bike-sharing schemes across the globe is the most visible element. The ‘on-demand economy’ is already influencing the flows of people, vehicles and goods across cities, changing everything from office demand to logistics networks.

The Platform Economy

China’s leading apps have become ubiquitous for Chinese consumers, integrating everything from messaging to e-payments. In some locations, users can book doctors’ appointments, pay bills, and pay for parking using a single platform. Bike-sharing, ride-hailing, e-commerce, and ticket buying are also integrated. China is already well ahead in terms of e-payments and, in the future, these platforms may transform the relationships between cities, corporates and citizens.

Mobility

China is investing heavily in the electric and autonomous vehicle sectors. Home to some of the world’s leading electric vehicle makers, it is also central to battery production. China’s automotive firms and technology giants are emerging as major players in the autonomous vehicle industry. These technologies will transform the ways in which cities and infrastructure are designed.

New Retail Concepts

Leading e-commerce firms are now pivoting towards ‘bricks-and-mortar’ retail, as they seek to break down the barriers between online and offline shopping experiences. This has included investments into existing retailers, utilising ‘big data’, experiential retail, and other new offers to improve the shopping experience. Unmanned convenience stores have also emerged.

+

中国创新将给城市带来哪些转变?

中国正在通过大胆的投资和开发来改变全球的城市天际线和基础设施。但在接下来的十年,中国将以更加多样和微妙的方式对世界城市产生影响。中国12强城市正处于一系列新技术的前沿,这些新技术将改变城市的运作方式

按需经济

中国12强城市在“按需经济”方面处于领先地位,其中包括在中国成熟的数字生态系统基础上建立的共享单车、网约车、联合办公和快递服务。无桩共享单车计划在全球扩张是最明显的方面。“按需经济”已经影响到城市中人员、车辆和货物的流动,改变了从办公楼需求到物流网络等各个方面。

平台经济

中国领先的应用程序(APP)已被中国消费者广泛运用,这些APP整合了从消息传递到电子支付的所有功能。在某些地方,用户可以利用同一平台预约医生、支付账单并支付停车费用。共享单车、网约车、电子商务和购票也都整合在一起。中国在电子支付领域已经遥遥领先,未来这些平台可能会改变城市、企业和居民之间的关系。

出行

中国正在大力投资电动汽车和无人驾驶汽车领域。中国有数家世界领先的电动汽车制造商,也是电池生产的中心。 中国的汽车公司和科技巨头正在成为无人驾驶汽车行业的主要参与者。这些技术将改变城市和基础设施原本的运营模式

新零售概念

领先的电商正从线上转向线下零售,试图打破线上和线下购物体验之间的壁垒。这包括对现有零售商的投资,利用“大数据”、体验式零售和新优惠措施改善购物体验。还推出了无人便利店。

+